Another Kid Friendly Gluten Free Recipe – Gluten Free Pretzel Parfait

Pretzel ParfaitThis is really not so much a recipe as it is an idea for a treat for the kiddos. My kids love this. I guess it’s kind of a simple, stupid idea, but it just goes to show that you can find some pretty tasty things if you just play with your food. I came up with this idea because one of my family’s favorite desserts is called pretzel salad. It’s a dessert made with crushed pretzels and butter for the crust and then it’s topped with jello mixed with frozen fruit and a whipped topping sort of topping. This one is a lot healthier. We love the Glutino gluten free pretzels in our house. I don’t usually let the kids have them though, because there’s not much that I can eat, so I tend to covet what I can. I haven’t been eating bread items too much lately, so I’ve been coveting things like pretzels a lot less. So, here’s my recipe for pretzel parfait:
Pretzel Parfait
Ingredients:

4 Ounces Gluten Free Pretzel Twists (can use regular pretzel twists for the family members that aren’t gluten free)
½ Cup Chopped Strawberries
(4) 6 Ounce Cups Low-fat Greek Yogurt (can use coconut milk yogurt or soy yogurt for a dairy free option)

Directions:
Turn the yogurt upside down into a bowl. Top with the chopped strawberries. Crush the pretzels and sprinkle over the top of the parfait.
Makes 4 Servings: 295 calories, 3g fat, 5mg cholesterol, 316mg sodium, 52g carbohydrates, 3g dietary fiber, 17g protein

Leave a comment