Friday Night Pizza Night

Pizza

Friday night has always been pizza night for my husband and me. Before we were married, we were at the Bon’s on Friday night for pizza. Once we got married, we still went to the Bon’s for Friday night pizza. We had children and then I started making my own pizza at home on Friday night, or, occasionally we would order out, or go to the Bon’s. It’s been rare that we don’t do pizza on Friday nights. Call of creatures of habit, or boring, but this has been going on for more than 15 years now. Whoa, I just felt old there for a second. Anyway, so, now I’m gluten free. In my endless search for the perfect Friday night pizza night pizza, I’ve been experimenting with pizza crusts. This is my latest invention. I took a recipe that I tried out without a whole bunch of success and kept tweaking it until it tastes pretty good. The verdict is out: my daughter likes it and it satisfies her jones-ing for pizza, but it’s not perfect. It is a bit chewy, but not crispy enough. The taste is excellent, but I still need to work on the texture thing. It sure does look pretty, though. It looks like real pizza. I’ll post the recipe tonight and keep working on it until I get it right. Enjoy!

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Ingredients:
½ C. White Rice Flour
½ C. Tapioca Starch
⅓ C. Millet Flour
⅓ C. Sorghum Flour
¼ C. Brown Rice Flour
1 t. Xanthan Gum
1 t. Kosher Salt
½ C. Unflavored Coconut Milk
2 t. Sugar
2 ¼ t. Yeast
2 Large Egg whites
3 T. Olive Oil

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425º. In a large mixing bowl, combine flours, tapioca starch, xanthan gum and salt. In a microwave safe dish (I use my 2 cup pyrex measuring cup), add the milk and sugar. Microwave for about 30 seconds, until slightly warmer than room temperature. Remove from microwave. Add egg whites, olive oil, and yeast. Allow yeast to bloom for about 5 minutes. Add yeast mixture to the flour mixture. Mix thoroughly for about a minute until all ingredients are fully incorporated. The dough should have the texture of cookie dough:
Divide the dough in two. Place on oiled pizza pans and shape into 2, 12” pizzas. Bake in preheated oven for about 8 minutes until slightly golden brown. Remove from oven and top as desired. Bake another 10-12 minutes, until toppings

Leave a Reply

