Another Crack at Friday Night Pizza Night

Gluten Free Pizza When the moon hits your eyes like a big pizza pie, that’s amore. I love Friday night pizza night. It’s really more about the gathering than the pizza itself. But, if you throw in a really good pizza, it just makes everything right. Typically we put on the Mob Hits cd (not quite sure why we have it or where we got it, but it’s perfect Friday night pizza night music) – songs like Mambo Italiano with Rosemary Clooney, That’s Amore and Volare by Dean Martin. We usually end up dancing around the living room to Mambo Italiano. Okay, maybe I’ve said too much. I worked on the pizza recipe from last week. While I don’t think I’ll ever find a pizza crust that tastes like the real thing, I’m striving to find one that I wouldn’t mind having every week for Friday night pizza night. Last week’s was pretty good, but I wasn’t totally sold on the texture. This week’s recipe turned out really good. I fooled around with the flour mixture and changed how I baked it. Both my daughter and I agreed that it was really good. Last week’s was a little chewy, which made me think that it was a cooking method issue. I realized that the crust needed to be baked thoroughly before adding the toppings so it wouldn’t have that slightly rubbery texture. This crust was a great mixture of a little chewiness with the cripness that gives it nice mouth feel. I hope you try it out. Maybe you can say, “That’s a nice.”

Ingredients:
¾ C. Tapioca Starch
⅓ C. Spelt Flour
⅓ C. Garbanzo Bean Flour
¼ C. Brown Rice Flour
¼ C. White Rice Flour
1 t. Xanthan Gum
1 t. Kosher Salt
½ C. Soy Milk
2 t. Sugar
1 T. Yeast
2 Large Egg whites
3 T. Olive Oil

Directions:
In a large mixing bowl, combine flours, tapioca starch, xanthan gum and salt. In a microwave safe dish (I use my 2 cup pyrex measuring cup), add the milk and sugar. Microwave for about 30 seconds, until slightly warmer than room temperature. Remove from microwave. Add egg whites, olive oil, and yeast. Allow yeast to bloom for about 5 minutes until it’s fluffy. Add yeast mixture to the flour mixture. Mix thoroughly for about a minute until all ingredients are fully incorporated. The dough should have the texture of cookie dough: Pizza dough
Divide the dough in two. Place on oiled pizza pans and shape into 2, 12” pizzas. Let rise for about 45 minutes. Preheat oven to 375º. You can either bake as is, or I like to lightly spray the crusts with cooking spray and sprinkle a little oregano, granulated garlic, and parmesan on it. Bake in preheated oven for about 15 minutes until slightly golden brown. Remove from oven and top as desired. Turn oven on broil. Broil pizza for few minutes, until toppings are to desired doneness and crust is golden brown (I put our pizzas on the middle shelf instead of the top shelf so they wouldn’t burn). Let rest 5 minutes before devouring wildly.

Leave a Reply

