Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes

Gluten Free Cupcake copyMaking cupcakes is like this thing I like to do. They’re these little cakes of goodness that are fun to decorate. And they make people happy. I like to experiment with different flavors, but I usually start with a basic chocolate or vanilla cupcake and differ the flavors added to the batter, or the filling added to the cupcakes. Now, that was before I went gluten free. I was the cupcake queen. Then, the gluten free boot dropped and my cupcake making stopped. I actually relegated myself to never eating a cupcake again. This was my first attempt at making a gluten free cupcake and they turned out really well. The texture is excellent and the taste is just like the real deal – they don’t have that slightly grainy taste that gluten free baked products often have. I hope you’ll try these out. Play with your food – try different flavors. For these, I made a peanut butter filling with some peanut butter and confectioner’s sugar. I didn’t add this to the recipe because I didn’t use a recipe. I just kept adding the confectioners sugar until the filling was slightly the texture of a Reese’s peanut butter cup that had sat out in the heat. It was a great combo. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
¼ Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1 Cup Sorghum
½ Cup Brown Rice Flour
¼ Cup Coconut Flour
½ tsp. Xanthan Gum
2 Cups Sugar
2 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Salt
2 Large Eggs
1 Cup Unsweetened Coconut Milk
½ Cup Canola Oil
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1 Cup Boiling Water

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375º. Place cupcake liners in 2 cupcake pans. In a large bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl, mix eggs, milk, oil and vanilla. Add to dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly. Stir in boiling water. Using a large ice cream scoop, fill each cupcake liner about 2/3 full with batter. Bake about 18-20 minutes on the middle shelf, until a toothpick inserted comes out completely clean. Don’t under cook or cupcakes will deflate. Let cool in pan before removing. Makes 24 cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

