Confessions of a Meat Eater – Gluten Free Multigrain Buns

Multigrain BunA long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, I was a vegetarian. No, that’s not my confession. I wasn’t one of those, ‘don’t wear leather because it came from a dead cow’ type of vegetarians. I mean, I grew up on a farm. We actually killed animals to eat. It’s all the circle of life. I just did it for the health of it. I felt good. I was exercising 6 days a week and when I wasn’t exercising, I was involved in mountain biking or rock climbing, or softball, or beach volleyball (even though I’m only 5’3″: I had a good vertical leap). I was always active and eating vegetarian just made me feel like I was functioning better. Then I met my husband, Mr. Meat and Potatoes, and I started eating meat again, slowly at first and then practically every meal had meat in it. No, that’s not my confession either. Lately, I’ve been slowly going back to eating vegetarian again. Here’s the confession: I like meat. Man, there’s no tofu burger that gives me as much satisfaction as biting into a medium rare burger and the juice soaking into the bun and mixing with that yeasty, bready goodness. So, my quest was to come up with a good bun for a burger. Here’s my other confession: I’m starting to like health more than I like biting into a burger. So, I came up with a good gluten free burger bun, but I had a chicken burger on. Still tasty. It’s a little tricky to make, but you could probably skip the foil rings and just shape them into rolls and let them raise. It’s worth the effort, though. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 ¼ Cups Brown Rice Flour
1 Cup White Rice Flour
½ Cup Potato Starch
⅓ Cup Coconut Flour
1 tbsp. Ground Flax Seed
1 tbsp. Xanthan Gum
2 Cups Coconut Milk
1 tbsp. Turbinado Sugar
1 tsp. Salt
2 Eggs
1 tbsp. Coconut Oil
1 tbsp. Active Dry Yeast
Cornmeal for dusting

Directions:
Cut 8 pieces of aluminum foil, 12” wide by 3” high. Fold each piece in half, so they measure 1 ½ inches x 12 inches. Fold each strip of foil into a circle, overlapping about ½ inch and tape securely. Spray a large cookie sheet with cooking spray and set the foil circles on the cookie sheet. Spray the inside of each foil ring.
Heat the milk in a microwave about 1 minute, until warm. Stir in sugar, salt, eggs, coconut oil, and yeast. Let stand for about 5 minutes until the yeast is fluffy. Meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, combine the brown rice flour, white rice flour, potato starch, coconut flour, flax seed, and xanthan gum. Mix thoroughly on medium speed, about 2 minutes.
With wet hands, divide the dough into 8 equal pieces. Sprinkle a pinch of cornmeal in the bottom of each of the foil rings. Put the divided dough into each of the rings and smooth out with wet hands. Multigrain Buns RaisingSprinkle the top of each lightly with cornmeal. Let rise for about 45 minutes until doubled in size. Be careful not to let them raise too much or they will fall when baked.
Preheat oven to 375º. Bake until the muffins in preheated oven until golden brown and firm to the touch, about 35-40 minutes until slightly browned and firm to the touch. Cool completely on baking rack and then store at room temperature for up to 3 days, or freeze for up to 3 months. Makes 8 buns.
Multigrain Buns

Leave a Reply

