Dairy Free Cheese (for pizza)

Dairy Free CheeseYes, I know, this is supposed to be a gluten free blog, but for me, dairy free goes hand in hand with gluten free, so ya gotta do what ya gotta do. First, I have to say that I have hated every dairy free cheese that I’ve bought from the store. Ugh. Really nasty. And I’ve tried every one that our store sells and every one that I’ve found at other stores. AND, they’re not cheap. It’s a lot to pay for a plastic/soy tasting nastiness. Okay, I shall step down from my soap box now. I mad a dairy free cheese a couple of times before that I liked. It was a cheddar kind of flavor to it. But, it doesn’t taste that great on pizza It’s tasty in an omelet or on a gluten free quesadilla, but not on pizza. This cheese tasted great on pizza. Okay, so it doesn’t melt that great on pizza. Maybe it would on a grilled cheese sandwich or quesadilla, because you can cook it longer, but it still has a very nice taste on the pizza. Plus, it has a very delicate texture, so it doesn’t taste like little shreds of plastic, even though it doesn’t melt like traditional mozzarella. I have to admmit, though, that the ingredients aren’t exactly easy to find. I make a 40 minutes drive to be able to buy the nutritional yeast flakes and agar flakes, but I know that they sell it on amazon.com too. Give it a try. It’s fun to make and tasty. Enjoy!


Ingredients:

1 Cup Raw Cashews
1/3 Cup Nutritional Yeast Flakes
2 Tbsp. Lemon Juice
1 Tsp. Smoked Sea Salt
2 Tsp. Onion Powder
½ Tsp. Granulated Garlic
1 ½ Cups Water
2 Tbsp. Agar Agar Flakes

Directions:
Cover the cashews in water about 1” over the level of the cashews. Soak the cashews for at least 4 hours, or overnight. I soaked mine for about 5 hours.
Drain cashews well. Add cashews, nutritional yeast flakes, lemon juice, salt, onion powder, and garlic to a food processor bowl. Bring the 1 ½ cups of water to a boil and add the agar agar. Stir while boiling for one minute. Turn heat down to medium low and simmer for another 7 minutes, until agar flakes are completely dissolved. Add agar mixture to the food processor with other ingredients and process until smooth, about 3 minutes.
Meanwhile, prepare a dish to mold the cheese in. I have a cheese mold that is just the right size, but you can use any container that is about 2 cups. Line the dish with plastic wrap and spray with cooking spray. Pour the cheese mixture into the prepared dish and let sit for about 2 hours until the cheese is set and ready to be used.

Leave a Reply

