Buckwheat FettucineI only make pasta once in a blue moon. I don’t know why I do it so little, but really when pasta is so cheap, and you can generally get pretty good pasta, it just doesn’t seem worth it. Well, that was until now. Gluten free pasta is a lot more expensive and the taste isn’t always wonderful. Corn pasta – yuck. Brown rice pasta is pretty tasty, but it is expensive. I’ve always wanted to try making my own noodles, so, of course, Valentine’s day would be the perfect time to do it. I made wheat fettucine for the men of the family and made these soba noodles for my daughter and me. These probably aren’t completely soba noodles, but I’m not into soba etiquette, so I’ll call them soba because they were made with buckwheat. I like these hearty noodles. I served them with some sauteed chicken and mushrooms, and a dairy free alfredo sauce. It was a nice valentine’s treat and good for my heart too. I threw together the alfredo sauce, so I’m not adding the recipe here, but I’ll figure out what I did and I’ll post that recipe soon. Until then, enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 Cup Potato Starch
½ Cup Buckwheat Flour
½ Cup Brown Rice Flour
1 Tsp. Xanthan Gum
3 Large Eggs
1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

Directions:
In the bowl of a food processor, add in the potato starch, buckwheat flour, brown rice flour, and xanthan gum. Mix thoroughly. In a small mixing bowl, combine the eggs and olive oil. With food processor running, slowly drizzle in the egg mixture. Process until the mixture pulls together and eggs are fully incorporated into the dry mixture. Remove from food processor and knead by hand for about 10 minutes. Cover with an inverted bowl and let rest for about 30 minutes. When rested, cut the dough ball into 3 pieces and roll out until flat enough to pass through a pasta machine. Start at the widest setting and pass through a couple of times. After each time of passing through, I fold it in thirds and pass it through again. Diminish the setting and pass through a few times. Keep diminishing until desired thickness. Cut into desired shape. You can either cook immediately. If cooking fresh, cook in salted water for a few minutes until soft to the bite, but not mushy.
If you are not cooking it fresh, you will need to let the noodles dry. First, hang the noodles and let them dry until slightly dry and hard to the touch, but still pliable. (I used a clothes hanger and hung them from my kitchen light fixture.) Soba Noodles Hanging
Remove to a baking sheet and let dry overnight. You can toss them with a little white rice flour to prevent sticking. To cook, cook in salted boiling water for about 8-12 minutes, until desired doneness. Cooking time will vary according to how thin you make your pasta.
Makes 8 servings.

Leave a Reply

