Another Rookie Mistake

Veggie SausageSo, I’ve been doing this vegan diet, Dr. Fuhrman’s Eat to Live diet. I chose Sunday as my ‘cheat day,’ where I would have some treats without going nuts. I decided to have some Morningstar Veggie Sausage Patties for breakfast as a special treat. I didn’t even read the ingredients. I’m almost always careful about things like that. During church, I started to feel sick. By the time I got home, I was in real gastric distress. Yuck! I felt horrible. To coin a term from Amanda on http://celiacandallergyadventures.wordpress.com/, I felt like I had been glutened. I couldn’t imagine where I could have eaten any gluten. Then I remembered that I had the veggie patties and sure enough, the number one ingredient was wheat (in the TVP). Duh! The number one ingredient: not even hidden in something like modified food starch. Another rookie mistake. Oh, well, you live and you learn. Moral of the story: read the ingredients!

By the way, my way of dealing with being glutened is to take a big glass of metamucil, drink lots of water, and maybe some tea. My go-to teas are Traditional Medicinal’s Eater’s Digest tea with a bag of dandelion root tea thrown in. I also like licorice root tea and in the summer and fall, I’ll have fresh peppermint thrown into some boiling water for tea. I know there are some medicines out there to use, but I prefer the flush it out and soothe the stomach route.

Here’s to your health!eater's digest

One thought on “Another Rookie Mistake

  1. Pingback: Another Rookie Mistake | searchingforglutenfree

Leave a Reply

